Is there a link between INTJ’s and Autism?

I am currently taking a Psychology class and one of my assignments was to take the Myers Briggs personality type test. There are so many different types of people that I find it hard to believe that all 7 billion people on earth can fit into only 16 personality categories, except my personality type describes me perfectly. The personality type that I am is the INTJ personality type. The letters stand for I (introversion), N (intuition), T (thinking), and J (judgement).  INTJ’s are one of the least common personality types, especially in females, so I feel rather proud of my personality type.

As I was doing some internet research on INTJ’s, I realized that an overwhelming amount of INTJ traits are also common autism traits. It makes me wonder if I am autistic or just an INTJ? Or all autistic people INTJ’s?  I am sure that Autism is far more complex than just a personality type, but the similarities are astounding.

For example, both INTJ’s and autistic people have difficulty with social interactions. Many people with ASD have an aversion to affectionate behavior as do INTJ personalities. Both often have tunnel vision and difficulty adhering to societal norms. There are many other similar trait between INTJ’s and people with ASD, but I did not want to make the list too lengthy.

If you would like to learn more about INTJ’s look here (intjvision.com). If you would like to learn more about all of the Meyers Briggs personalities look here (https://www.truity.com/personality-type).  I encourage all of you to take the test and comment your results and thoughts on this blog post. I am highly interested in seeing all of your results.

5 thoughts on “Is there a link between INTJ’s and Autism?

  1. Good thought. I found out I was INTJ many years ago, but only found out I was Aspergers (self-diagnosed) last year. I saw the similarities immediately, but I seem to have far more autistic traits.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am sorry, I do not understand your train of thought. Being an INTJ simply describes your personality type. You can have any personality type and still be autistic/Aspergers. Not all INTJ’s have autism. I just think that for a lot of us (autistics), our autism greatly influences our personality and it may lead us to have a more autism prone personality type, though it is not the same for everyone.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment